A Tale of Two Cities (or Ages)

I always love how Charles Dickens opened his novel of A Tale of Two Cities with these lines:

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way…

Our journey offers too many beginnings and endings, obstacles and aids, struggles and thrives, defeats and celebrations. And if we look towards our inner self, we juggle between love and hate, happiness and sorrow, faith and worry, hope and despair among other mixture of emotions.

All those are choices only between black or white, or a mixture of the two, and play around the level of blackness or whiteness. I recently took a Color personality test and it was lovely to know to have my personality matched with color White, a color that compliment every personality. I couldn’t agree more to its interpretation. I’ll share the result on another post.

What if we are given an array of colors, and we have to choose only two? And for the many places we have been to, and of many years we live here on earth, we only have to choose only two places? Which would these be?

The Village

The Village

This place is always a memory of my childhood. On that rugged street I ran and played together with neighboring children. On those trees we climbed, we picked fruits for snacks, we cut-off branches to build our playhouse, we gathered leaves for the flooring and woods for cooking. Behind the big trunks we hid.

I left this place at a very young age to live with my Aunt’s to get better education. It’s a town much developed than ours, and much advanced with regards to learning. In my child’s mind, my parents decided it for my own benefits.

Since then, I become a foreigner on my own village. My parents, with three of my siblings with their own families, reside in that small village, thriving and developing to be competitive in a progressing community in a mountainous region.

The City

Now here I am, in a business and cultural hub city where skyscrapers and high-rise buildings are towering. This city is also home to other ambitious development projects including man-made islands, hotels, and some of the largest shopping malls in the region and the world. This has become my home for almost two years now.

“Two faces of memories, two places I call home.”

 

A Contrast.

It’s a journey
From the lushes of green
To the flickering colors of edifice lights.
From forest hills and broad dales
To desert sand and open seas
Being awaken by the animals sound
To the morning alarm clocks
From a mobile signal source at the valley peak
To the satellite posts on every streets and highways.
From a conservative digital world
To the most sophisticated one.
Look-Up is the word to know the difference.
8 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Cities (or Ages)

  1. Pingback: A Tale of Two Cities – Spokane and New York City | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

    • Thank you, thank you for your sweet comments. I’m grateful that i experience both the rural and urban living. It teaches me how to be content. I think, it’s human’s instinct to easily adopt to its surroundings. That when we don’t attach ourselves to it, and just learn to live in the present moment. 😉 I like the theme of your blog. I’m actually beginning to search for ideas on how to eat healthy. I recently attended a talk about Acidity vs Alkalinity of each food. If you have any thoughts about the topic, i would love to learn more about it.

      Like

      • Hi mymae,

        I think you are right about the adaptability. But in some cases its hard, depends on people I guess. I am glad you like the theme of the blog. Ok, I will look into it and see what I can come up with.

        Regards,

        EAT ALL FRESH 🙂

        Like

  2. Very well written Mae, I really enjoyed reading this. It took me back to growing up in a small Welsh town and then ending up living in London for 27 years. I’ve since moved to a smaller city which I see as somewhere between the two. I love the Charles Dickens quote you have used as well. Such an excellent way to start a book – it gets you hooked straight away.

    Like

  3. Really enjoyed reading this . It conveys a sense of nostalgia. We all think back to our childhoods and times past. Your life has a big contrast between where you grew up and where you live now.

    We make choices about where to live for various reasons. I live in the country town I grew up in. But I lived in a big city for four years and there are things about city life that I miss now. I have good memories of those years. 😊

    Like

    • Thank you, Maria. Indeed, totally different scene. There are times I wish they’re closer to each other. But you’re right, we decide for it, and best we do is enjoy each place and create memories. Which city do you live? My friend is currently on a road trip around South Australia, and enjoying everything about it.

      Like

      • Hi Mae, I live on the Sunshine Coast in south East Queensland. My town is just north of Brisbane, our capital city.

        The Sunshine Coast is referred to as a city now. The many small beach and hinterland towns have grown rapidly over the years and the character of the area has changed so much from when I was a child.

        There are a lot more people living here now. But the beaches and rainforest are still largely unspoiled. Glad your friend is enjoying her road trip. There is plenty to see!

        Like

Share your thoughts

