What Am I Getting Into

This blogroll has been around for quite sometime. But when you find months with higher number of posts, those were the days where I was involved with writing courses.

On one of those courses, I wrote an essay on how I get to dislike writing.

Here’s an excerpt:

“I remembered not any book-titles on wooden shelves, as we did not have those in our shanty home. I remembered not any book-characters from bedtime stories, as we were not told when lying on our hardwood bed.

I had grown in sub-urban community, among families and relatives in between years. And there were no introduction of love of books and reading. On my High School years, I lived independently, and far from the concept of “what a wonderful world” we have. I remembered! On my senior year, we had to write a journal for English class requirement. Life was hard on those years. And it was all transcribed in that little journal. After completion of that project, I resolved not to write about daily experiences.”

The thought of reading books, curating articles and scribbling words came alive after I finished university.

I volunteered on a Christian school started by the church I was involved with. With the use of International curriculum of individualized education, and incorporating Biblical characters and principles, it gave me inspirations. Finally, I found myself relieved and thought I am in the right place, with the right people, and with the right environment. There I encountered again “Literature”, this time the Christian Literature. I gained easy access to school library filled with books for all ages. Also, I was given the role to handle and supervise the Christian Literature subject.

I taught to inspire. The profession itself became an inspiration. Random mornings and random days, random notes were written. Those notes contained just about anything to lift a broken-soul, to motivate, to encourage, to congratulate, to confide, to appreciate. There were also notes to complain, to reason, to argue, to be mad. I started to scribble words and formed them into poems. I began to write phrases, and formed them into stories. I even had different notebooks for different purposes or writing.

But it never lasted. When I left that place, I forgot everything about my love of words.

Five years have passed …

As time passes by, many things will change – the people you meet, the places you visit, the experiences you go through. But I realized, as you travel time in days…, months…years…, every bit of your dreams rekindle, and it find ways for you to meet them again.

And that is what World of Mymae is all about.

Most of the existing posts on this blog is about my poetry. But since I get involve on the National Poetry Writing Month challenge, I will be moving all my personal poetry to Jewel of Creations. It’s newly created for that purpose, and for all of my writing projects.

World of Mymae will take on the journey of personal stories, travel experiences, and photo journals. I also love to collect articles I read from the internet, gather lyrics of my favorite songs, note movie titles I like to watch, and many other things under the sun. I’m pretty much excited to grow this personal space into a global community, that would reach to everyone of all ages.

“Let me be the change that I wish to see in the world.”


This article is in response to a new challenge called Zero to Hero that I’m taking on from The Daily Post. Today’s assignment is to write and publish a “who I am and why I am here” post.

2 thoughts on “What Am I Getting Into

  1. Pingback: A Penny for Thought. A Nickel for Like. A Dime for Follow. | World of Mymae

Share your thoughts

